Christmas Dinner at My Host Family’s House

After going to Imperial Palace on December 23rd, I went to my host family’s house near Magome Station to have a Christmas dinner. It was only a small Christmas dinner for only one family. But I enjoyed that celebration very much. My host mother cooked many kinds of food. I also cooked croquette and brought it to that Christmas dinner.

Actually it was my first time to make croquettes. But I thought I would bring some food to let them taste different kind of food. So I brought croquettes which were easy to make. Making croquettes really took a lot of time. I had to boil the carrots first, and then cook the chicken and carrot for the filling. I also had to steam the potatoes, and then mashed it and mixed it with milk powder and salt to make the croquette skin. I started to make the croquettes at 10 pm and finished making it at 5 am. As a result, I lacked of sleep on the next day. I made 21 croquettes at that time.

my croquette filling

my croquette filling

My raw croquettes

My raw croquettes

my fried croquettes

my fried croquettes

I arrived at my host family’s house at 5.30 pm. They fetched me at Magome Station and then we walked together to their house. Chisaki-chan really looked forward to my coming to their house. There were many kinds of food like ovened chicken, sandwich, salad, my croquette, strawberry cake, tortilla chips with avocado, cream cheese crackers, and apple fanta. When  the strawberry cake was served, I was actually quite afraid to be given too many strawberries because I don’t like strawberries. But the strawberries were different from what I had eaten in Indonesia. It was sweet. It was the first time I could eat strawberries without frowning for their sourness.

our dinner

our dinner

We also took a picture together before eating our dinner.

before-dinner-picture

before-dinner-picture

After we finished eating dinner, we had some little talks. My host mother learned some Indonesian words. We also watched some photos and videos about Chisaki-chan’s activities. She was singing in her school festival. When she watched the video, she sang the song again according to what she saw and heard in the video.

This entry was posted in Christmas, homestay, Japan, Play, Winter and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

