The Power of 50 Yen

Today I went to South Korea Embassy with my friends who will travel with me to South Korea in March. We went to the embassy to ask for visa. South Korea was located at Azabujuban Station (麻布十番駅). We made an appointment to meet at Ookayama Station, and then we went to Azabujuban Station together. Going from Ookayama to Azabujuban costed us 310 yen.

After arriving at Azabujuban, we walked to the South Korea Embassy to apply for visa. After filling the visa application form, copying our alien registration card and paying 3000 yen for single visa, we took our queue numbers. Well, after one of us went to the locket to submit the application, he was refused because he had not got any reentry permit to Japan. We also hadn’t got any reentry permit, so we had to go to the immigration office to obtain reentry permit first.

I am now staying at Yokohama, and so are two of my friends, so we have to go to Yokohama Immigration Office to obtain our reentry permit. It was really far away, it costed us 630 yen to get from Azabujuban to Shinsugita Station (新杉田駅) where the immigration office is located. Because my money in the PASMO card was not enough, so I had to charge 1000 yen in it. I only brought 7000 yen with me today, so after being subtracted by visa application fee and PASMO charge, I only had 3000 yen left and several hundreds yen for lunch.

After arriving at Shinsugita Station, we ate at McDonalds first, it costed me 490 yen. Then we took a bus to go to the immigration office because it was really far away from the station, and we also took a bus again to go back to the station. It costed us 210 yen for taking a bus once. In the immigration office, we were required to buy a 3000 yen stamp for the reentry permit application. So in the end, I only had 67 yen left.

DSC02619

Empty wallet

67 Yen only

67 Yen only

At first, I thought that the rest of my money in the PASMO card would be enough to travel from Shinsugita Station to Nagatsuta Station. But after arriving at Nagatsuta Station, both of my friends could get out of the ticket gate easily. I was left behind because there were so many people there, and there was an old lady in front of me, so I couldn’t walk as quickly as my friends. After arriving at the ticket gate, I put my PASMO card on the card reader, the door closed and I couldn’t get through. I tried once again, but I still couldn’t get through it. It must be because my money in the PASMO card was insufficient. But I had no money left to charge my PASMO card. So I called my friends and finally they came back to the ticket gate to lend me some money. In the fare adjustment machine, I saw that my money in the PASMO card was 50 yen less than the travel cost. Oh no, I was blocked by 50 yen at the ticket gate! Even 50 yen had great power in this case!

This entry was posted in Japan, Just for fun, Play, Winter and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Power of 50 Yen

  1. chemieingenieur says:

    Oh, jadinya ke Korea ya…
    Persiapannya aja udah penuh perjuangan gitu..

    Ganbare yo 🙂

  2. meongijo says:

    Of course you were blocked because you had money less than it required.

    Btw, sorry but I think you have to make it clear who is the subject before this statement 😛 :
    Well, after one of us went to the locket to submit the application, he was refused because he had not got any reentry permit to Japan.

Leave a Reply

